The Holiday Book Haul of 2012

Happy Holidays and Happy 2013!

I hope everyone had an amazing time this holiday season!

Not to brag, but I got four books for my birthday and Christmas. Toss in an Amazon gift card that I fully intend to spend on books and I’ve done very well, I’d say.

The books I got are all additions to my “printed before 1925” used book collection – in fact, they most recently printed one is dated 1905. They are, in no particular order:

  • “The Lady of the Lake” by Sir Walter Scott
  • “Ivanhoe” by Sir Walter Scott
  • “The Czar’s Spy” by William Le Queux
  • “The Love-Letters of the King, or The Life Romantic” by Richard La Gallienne

I am very excited to read all of them, although The Lady of the Lake scares me a little because it’s all poetry. I’ll read it, though. That’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions – to finish every book I start this year, and to read 52 books at least in 2013.

Now, speaking of the Amazon gift card, I can’t decide what to buy so I’m coming to any and all of you for advice. I’ve got my “want” list narrowed down to just short of a dozen!

  • “The Bronze Horseman” by Paullina Simmons
  • “Mrs. Mike” by Benedict Freedman
  • “Gone With The Wind” by Margaret Mitchell
  • “Plainsong” by Kent Haruf
  • “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles
  • “The Widow’s War” by Mary Mackey
  • “A Very Long Engagement” by Sebastian Japrisot
  • “A Separate Country” by Robert Hicks

So, have you read any of those books? Tell me what’s good and what’s not. And go ahead and confuse me more with suggestions of something I missed completely!

I like anything, really, but things set back in history at some time or another are my absolute favorites.

2 thoughts on “The Holiday Book Haul of 2012

  1. The Hyperteller January 2, 2013 / 8:04 am

    Happy New Year! Can’t help you with which of those books to choose as they’re not really in my sphere of interest. However, wanted to say that I also have the same resolution as you; read at least one book a week this year. I keep finding my reading suffers as I get busy, but as soon as I remember to get back to it it devours a lot of my time. Balance is definitely the key, and I shall find it this year!

    • Nicole O January 5, 2013 / 8:12 pm

      Happy New Year to you! Balance is definitely the key. I find myself stuck in one book, so I put all books aside and don’t read as much as I should. Maybe this year I’ll try to just go ahead and start something new when I get stuck. No reason to force myself through something I’m not enjoying after all…

Leave a Reply

