Reviewed: “Nights in Rodanthe” by Nicholas Sparks

I have a confession to make. I’ve heard of Nicholas Sparks and I know he writes a lot of books, books that get made into movies. Until I found Nights in Rodanthe at my library’s used book sale, I did not own nor had I ever read one of his books. In terms of the movies based off his books, I’ve seen A Walk to Remember but, alas, I do not remember it any more than knowing that Mandy Moore starred in it.

All that being said, when I saw that paperback books at the sale were a mere twenty-five cents, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to see what all the fuss was about.

And it didn’t hurt. It didn’t do the opposite of hurt either. It kind of did nothing.

I started the book last Wednesday because I had jury duty and needed a book that would fit in my kind of small handbag, one that I wouldn’t care if it got banged up or left behind.

I read twenty-five pages before I got to go home early and then I didn’t touch it again until yesterday. I was thoroughly wrapped up in a book that didn’t fit in my bag and finished that yesterday, sadly.

So, in summary, I read the other 195 pages of Nights in Rodanthe between yesterday morning and this morning.

Easy read? Check.

Simple to follow plot? Check.

Fast read? Check.

This really isn’t a book that I’d usually read, or buy. After reading it, I’m kind of glad I only paid a quarter for it.

The cover, as you see, said “you’ll cry in spite of yourself.” I did not cry.

It was bittersweet and romance did bloom. Very briefly before it disappeared completely.

I can’t guarantee it, but I think I’d have like the book more if there was more to it. More than just 220 pages in which maybe half were spent on the romance that was supposed to make my cry.

As books go, it served it’s purpose of being a quick, easy read that fit in my bag.

I didn’t feel much connection to Adrienne or Paul, though. I wanted them to have a happy ended and, I suppose, in some roundabout way they did.

It was just too short. On the other hand, I’m not sure I’d want to read more.

Will I read this book again? Maybe. If I need a book that fits in my bag and I don’t care if it gets damaged or lost again.

2 thoughts on “Reviewed: “Nights in Rodanthe” by Nicholas Sparks

  1. easyondeyes June 25, 2012 / 10:43 pm

    The only Nicholas Sparks I really liked was Message in a bottle.. the rest, like you said, dint do much. And I guess I must have liked it because it was one of those days! 😉

    • Nicole O June 26, 2012 / 2:25 pm

      Glad to know I’m not the only one! It seems like everyone loves everything he writes. I don’t try to be a follower, but sometimes you wonder! 😉

Leave a Reply

