Reviewed: “Coming of Age at the End of Days” by Alice LaPlante

23168306If Alice LaPlante meant for Coming of Age at the End of Daysto be a commentary on how religion, especially of the evangelical, end of days sort, can prey on the weakest in society, she succeeded.

If Alice LaPlante meant for it to be a commentary on the value of faith and religion in an uncertain, vulnerable world, she missed the mark with me.

I wanted to take Anna Franklin away from Lars and the religious he surrounded himself with. I wanted to shake sense into her. I wanted to know more about the people who seemed to be trying to save her. I wanted them to succeed.

I came to the story not expecting what I got. Maybe it’s that I’m agnostic that keep me from fully understanding it but… I don’t.

This book gets three stars only because it was just interesting enough for me to see it through to the end.

(I received a copy of this book through NetGalley and Grove Atlantic in exchange for an honest & original review.)

One thought on “Reviewed: “Coming of Age at the End of Days” by Alice LaPlante

  1. empressdj May 20, 2016 / 7:52 am

    Totally understand your frustration – I feel the same way about religion.

Leave a Reply

