Reviewed: “Sailor and Fiddler: Reflections of a 100-Year-Old Author” by Herman Wouk

58.jpgI requested an ARC of Sailor and Fiddler because I read The Winds of Warand War and Remembrance, which I loved, and I thought there had to be something interesting in an autobiography of a hundred-year-old author who lived through almost the entire twentieth century.

I was happy to get the ARC and I was happier still when I read Herman Wouk’s book.

I have not read all that many autobiographies, because I’m not often interested in people telling me just why they are so very important to the world. Wouk doesn’t do that. His story is one of self-deprecating humor, one of a sort of wonder that he happened to be in all these places as the world shifted just slightly enough that everyone noticed, and one of humor and honesty above all.

It’s short, and I’m sure it could have been longer, but it is fascinating to know how such a prolific writer gathered the inspiration for his monumental stories, borrowing from family and friends and bothering them as he struggled to move from one step to the next.

If you want to read a book about a man who wrote books, read this book.

I received a copy of Sailor and Fiddler: Reflections of a 100-Year-Old Author through NetGalley and Simon & Schuster in exchange for an honest original review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a Reply

