Reviewed: “Anne of the Island” by L.M. Montgomery

54.jpgAnne Shirley is my kindred spirit.

I loved that phrase the first time she used it to describe Diana Barry in the first book in the series, which I read in third grade, and I love it now… many years after third grade.

I don’t think I expected to still love these books now when I read them in elementary school, or high school, but I do. Reading them again is like reconnecting with old friends and it feels safe and warm and happy.

My copy of this third book in the series was printed in 1992. The pages are yellowing and the spine is crack and, at some point, I left little marks in the margins. I don’t want to have to buy a new, crisp, clean copy. I want my yellowed, cracked, LOVED copy from all that time ago to last forever just like Anne will.

Leave a Reply

