Failing and winning

I am going to fail my Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge.

This upsets me.

Maybe I set the bar too high (75 books) but that’s only one more than I read last year. So maybe not.

Failure sucks. Especially when it seems ever more likely that said failure was one’s own fault.

On the other hand, maybe I’m winning.

Maybe I spent 2015 reading different sorts of books. Ones that I can get lost in for weeks at a time rather than rushing through more than a book a week. Or maybe 2015 was a more distracted year for reading. Or maybe I read Cassandra Clare too much in 2015.

Either way, I’m going to fail and I’m going to win.

But now I have to decide if I do the Reading Challenge in 2016 and risk failure, if I lower my total to a more manageable 52 books, or if I just read whatever the hell I want to read whenever the hell I want to read it.

5 thoughts on “Failing and winning

  1. mylibrarycardworeout December 18, 2015 / 5:48 pm

    Failing reading goals are always so depressing. I used to set mine way too high and constantly not reach it. So I started to set it lower so I’d reach my very attainable goal and then go above and beyond and feel great about myself. The number to complete was still a push, but not so much than I felt horrible for never reaching it. Keep trying! And sometimes it isn’t always the number too, which I’ve found out. I’ve been reading a lot less books, volume wise, in the past few years, but the books I read now are much bigger and have so much more to them so I think, personally, that the trade off is worth it. 🙂

    • Nicole O December 19, 2015 / 4:05 pm

      Thanks very much for that pep talk! You really got it there, since my number was so high this year because I totally blew my 2014 goal out of the water, above and beyond. I set 2015 at the out of the ordinary 2014 mark. Keep it reasonable, excellent advice, thanks. I don’t know if what I’m reading is bigger, exactly, but I’m definitely finding myself getting lost int he worlds and savoring them more. Thanks again!

  2. empressdj December 19, 2015 / 12:42 am

    Quality is more important than quantity – unless we are talking about chocolate… 😉

    • Nicole O December 19, 2015 / 4:02 pm

      Oh goodness… that’s the best thing I’ve read all day! Chocolate really is the exception to the rule. Foil-wrapped waxy chocolate Easter eggs are just as satisfying as fancy Ghirardelli or any of that. Not so with books. Thanks for the remind, lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

