Reviewed: “Sweet Damage” by Rebecca James”

Sweet DamageRebecca James’ “Sweet Damage” drew me in after just a fraction of the 304 pages. I couldn’t stop reading. I felt passionately about the characters. I wanted to understand them better and I wanted to see them get what they deserve in life, good or bad.

James sets the perfect scene. I felt like I was in Sydney and I’ve never been to Australia. I felt like I knew Anna’s house intimately and it was something created with words on a page. Anna, Tim, and Lilla have such strong personalities that there’s no danger of them being too much alike or too cookie cutter, for lack of a better phrase.

Their stories are strong and they have qualities that make them jump off the page. That makes for an excellent story.

As I read, I went back and forth behind the meaning of the story. I thought I understood the plot and the purpose but I was pleasantly surprised, startled even, when things turned out very much different than I expected. I like books that keep me on edge, making me turn the page just when I think I’ve got it all figured out.

“Sweet Damage” is available for purchase now.

(I received a copy of “Sweet Damage” through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and original review. The review will be post on NetGalley, Goodreads, and my blog.)

Leave a Reply

