Reviewed: “Yellow Crocus” by Laila Ibrahim

Yellow CrocusWhen Laila Ibrahim wrote “Yellow Crocus” she answered my longstanding, unspoken request for a book about the relationship between white children in the pre-Civil War South and the African American slaves were so much a part of their lives.

I imagine, for many people and for myself, the curiosity about this stems from “Gone With the Wind” but this book is something different. Shorter, of course, it’s not the sweeping epic filled with angst and drama that the other book is. That doesn’t make it less of an important story.

The evolution of Lisbeth Wainwright, precious daughter of wealthy Virginia plantation owners who has the world at her fingertips to a thoughtful, introspective young woman willing to see beyond the time and the place she’s been told to exist is unique to anything I’ve read and very, very interesting.

I suppose some might say that “Yellow Crocus” tries too hard for the happiest of endings. In a way, it does. But on the other hand, it doesn’t. Lisbeth and Mattie find what they need in life. If that’s a happily ever after, I don’t know.

(I received a copy of “Yellow Crocus” through NetGalley in exchange for an honest & original review. My review is cross-posted on NetGalley, Goodreads, and on my blog.)

Leave a Reply

