The speed at which we read

A week or so ago I completed my 2014 Reading Challenge on Goodreads (not bragging, just stating a fact) and I’m a little impressed with myself. My goal was 52 books in 2014 and it’s still three days from October and I’ve done it. Being impressed made me think: what is different about my reading habits in 2014 than in 2013 and 2012, when I just barely squeaked out my lower set goals?

I think it comes down to one thing —

I signed up at NetGalley, requested any book that struck my fancy, and made better use of my Kindle.

A more detailed explanation is that I’ve come to the conclusion that I read ebooks much faster than I read printed books.

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this. I may be using my Kindle more and appreciating the value of ebooks but I will never be swayed from loving printed books. They will always be my home. I also can’t help but feel that reading a novel faster isn’t necessarily a good thing. I remember enough to write a review when I finish and tell people/annoy people about the ones I loved. But even the best ones aren’t as imprinted on my brain as the print books I’ve read recently are.

It’s as though I’ve read books, I didn’t become part of the world in the books.

For the most part, anyway, there are always exceptions to the rule.

All that being said, I think it’s time for a poll here at Adventures With Words so tell me where you stand and leave a comment if you’ve got one…

Leave a Reply

