Reviewed: “The Girls of August” by Anne Rivers Siddons

The Girls of AugustTHE GIRLS OF AUGUST by Anne Rivers Siddons is not my usual type of book but I’m trying to branch out. This book provided me two days of entertainment and there’s a chance, not a great one, I’ll branch out this way permanently.

Like I said, I read the entire think two days. Considering that, the fact that the cover is a group of women relaxing on the beach, and that the women in the book vacation on the beach… this is probably one of those “beach reads” I hear about. (I’m not a beach person so the idea of “beach reads” isn’t something that’s a selling point to me, at all.)

I wish, I really wish, that this book had taken me just a few more days to read. As much as I found myself firmly between the three original “Girls of August” and the newcomer in age, I liked these women and I wanted to know more about them. I wanted to spend more time with them. They all had their irritating moments but that’s reality – we all have our irritating moments. They also all had their redeeming moments but that’s reality too – we all have our redeeming moments.

If this is a “beach read”, it’s an awfully depressing one. The entire plot of the story is driven by the tragic death of one of the original “Girls” and evolves to cover adultery, the death of a child, possible alcoholism, biases, and random hidden secrets and diaries. All in a two day read.

It seems a bit much.

There is a ray of hope for one of the women, maybe a ray for two of the women. But there’s not much attention paid to the hope at all.

In fact, a lot of the main points seem to be skimmed. It makes it seem as though there are too many points in such a small space. I wanted to stop reading what Madison was cooking for dinner and find out more about what Barbara was going through, because it seemed infinitely more important.

It really did seem like the author was trying to cram as many plot points into a story that seems more like a novella than a novel. Maybe this is how “beach roads” go. I don’t know. What I do know is that it’s a story that left me unsatisfied. I’d have read more, twice as many pages, had there been more to read. So I really did like it, in general.

(I received THE GIRLS OF AUGUST through Net Galley in return for an honest review. My review will be cross-posted on Net Galley, Goodreads, and my blog.)

Leave a Reply

