Reviewed: “Whiskey Rebellion” by Liliana Hart

Whiskey RebellionTrue story.

I was shopping for an e-book from the Top 100 Free E-books list on my Kindle and I passed Whiskey Rebellion by twice before I accidentally clicked to download it rather than to read more, or something like that. My first reaction was “No, no, no! I don’t want this book!” and my second reaction was “eh, whatever, it’s free and it’s a book… I’ll give it a try.”

Downloading this book by accident was one of the happiest accidents I’ve had in awhile.

During the course of the story, Addison Holmes is a high school history teacher, a stripper, and a private investigator… all while having someone stalk her and dead bodies appear every time she turns around. She’s not very good at any of the jobs, but she does them gusto. That’s what makes her so relatable and appealing. She doesn’t have a perfect life and she’s not amazingly good at everything. This depresses her a little but like every woman everywhere, she makes herself feel better with alcohol and ice cream. 

Even more than that, Addison is the first person to laugh at herself after she wallows in self-pity for a few minutes. Chocolate sauce on your boob after eating ice cream while driving? Nothing to be embarrassed about, so long as you don’t try to lick it off in public. 

I laughed out loud at this book. In public. It was embarrassing and glorious at the same time.

Here are some of my favorite funny lines…

“God bless Dairy Queen. When life lets you down, they’re always there to pick up the pieces with the help of twenty-percent butter fat.”

“If I was going to be accused of being a slut, I damn well wanted the sex to back it up.”

“I personally thing I’d make a terrible wife. I hate to do laundry and I never have food in my refrigerator, though I can cook when meat and produce magically appear. I like to sleep in the middle of the bed and I don’t like to budge. Not very wifely at all.”

And my favorite…

“I wasn’t about to let logic and truth interfere with my mood.”

Leave a Reply

