Film adaptations of books

I don’t know about you, but I’m firmly on the fence when it comes to film adaptations of books. There really are scant few films I’ve seen that were based on books that I really, really liked. Maybe part of my problem is that the movies I feel most strongly about are adaptations of the books I love most, but it’s still a problem I have. I’m not alone, am I?

The stories I’m thinking of range from heavy classics like Jane Austen novels to fun classics like Roald Dahl books and even to things I’m not ashamed to admit I love (thereby making the movies hurt the most), like Twilight and Harry Potter.

The general consensus seems to be that there just isn’t enough time or space in a film to get every detail of the book. I’m no filmmaker, and I only have hazy and yet firm dreams of being a ‘writer’, but I really think it could be done better.

So I decided to see what other people thought when a movie based on a book comes out and I made the very first poll for Adventures With Words…

What’s the worst film adaptation of a book you’ve seen? What’s the best adaptation you’ve seen?

Being an apparently positive person today, I can’t seem to think of a worst ever at the moment. Recently, though, I’d have to go with pretty much any Twilight movie and the two films created from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Best adaptation ever might just be Bridges of Madison County. Maybe it has to do with Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep… Best recent adaptation is The Hunger Games, in no small part because the movie actually added characters that you don’t meet until the second book in the series. I actually loved the book more after I watched the movie.

Please do leave a comment if you’d like!

4 thoughts on “Film adaptations of books

  1. Lea Jurock May 21, 2012 / 1:10 pm

    I tend to keep movie and film adaptations separate as best I can. If I see a movie I love and find out it was after a book, I go and read the book, but I really try not to compare them. Since I know they won’t have the details all correct in the movie, I just try to enjoy it for being a movie. Not sure if that makes sense, but there you go. 🙂

    • Nicole O May 21, 2012 / 2:17 pm

      That completely makes sense. In fact, I wish I’d said that in my post! The movies and books really are so different that it really probably best not to compare them at all. What I said about Twilight is an example, love the books and I watch the movies, but they really don’t resemble each other that much at all. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

  2. Azevedo May 21, 2012 / 1:34 pm

    For best adaptation you can always look at movies who surpassed the books. The Godfather, Casablanca, The Shinning, Blade Runner, etc.

    • Nicole O May 21, 2012 / 2:24 pm

      Of those, I’ve only seen The Shining and parts of various Godfather films. I really should have seen Casablanca, but I haven’t. Then again, I haven’t read those books, besides The Shining (definitely an excellent adaptation) either. I’ve been meaning to try The Godfather, though. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

