Book #8: “Catching Fire” by Suzanne Collins

After being underwhelmed by The Hunger Games, I can safely say that I absolutely loved every word of Catching Fire.

I’m picky when it comes to books, too, so that’s saying something.

Catching Fire had just the right balance of everything you could possibly want in a book; love, hate, friendship, family, drama, angst, action, tragedy, triumph. How Suzanne Collins got all of that into less than 400 pages, I don’t know … but she did and I love it.

I even liked Gale a few times in the book. Not too much, though. I was too focused on Peeta. For some reason, Peeta strikes me as the underdog of the story and I always have and always will root for the underdog. More than liking Gale, even, I liked Katniss. I came pretty close to hating Katniss in The Hunger Games so that is big.

I started the book on Friday night and finished it on Sunday evening. I can’t remember the last time I read a book in two days. Even worse, it was Easter weekend so I kind of, sort of ignored my family a little bit. They didn’t mind, though, especially my sister. She’d read all the books and we could barely have a conversation because I didn’t want her to spoil what happens in Catching Fire or Mockingjay and that’s all she wanted to talk about!

Reading a book fast does have advantages, though. You feel less guilty and even silly about re-reading it soon…

One thought on “Book #8: “Catching Fire” by Suzanne Collins

  1. The Background Story April 11, 2012 / 9:41 am

    Reading a book fast does have advantages, though. You feel less guilty and even silly about re-reading it soon…–TRUE

Leave a Reply

