Book #7: “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

Oh, it only took me five days to read the thing everyone is talking about. Very nice. That I read it so fast, not the book.

I was, in a word, underwhelmed.

Maybe too much buildup with the film coming out and everyone else on the planet telling me how amazing the book is? Yeah, that’s probably it.

Whatever the explanation, a big part of the reason I read The Hunger Games so fast is because there were some very dry parts that I kinda, sorta skimmed in the hopes that something a tad more interesting would happen. And, happily, it did. Oh, Rue…

The idea behind the book/series is strong. It’s the story that got to me.

The characters I liked most (Haymitch, Cinna, and Rue) didn’t get enough time to shine. I wanted more of all them, even if Rue still met the same fate.

I liked Peeta, much more than Gale, but maybe that’s because Katniss treated him like, well, crap. I always root for the one treated like crap by the ‘heroine’.

The whole Peeta/Katniss/Gale thing reminds me of, yes, Twilight.

Peeta is, and I really can’t believe I’m saying this since I just said I like him, Jacob – the one the girl never notices. Katniss is obviously Bella – uses whoever gets her furthest. And Gale is obviously Edward – the moody, broody one lurking in the shadows.

As far as young adult series that catch of fire and attract everyone’s attention go, The Hunger Games comes third for me – after Twilight and Harry Potter.

All that being said, I do plan to read the other two books…

2 thoughts on “Book #7: “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

  1. Jeyna Grace March 30, 2012 / 10:39 pm

    THG is not about the love story.. which im glad. Its about power and the misuse of it. Thats why its different from HP and twilight.

  2. nilyov March 31, 2012 / 10:04 pm

    I know that its focused on power and misuse of it, but you can hardly deny the undercurrent of a love story in the book. Peeta spends the entire book declare that he loves Katniss. She thinks its because Haymitch told him too, but it’s clear to me that Haymitch has nothing at all to do with Peeta’s words and feelings.

    In my humble opinion, and I could very well be wrong, a story based on a girl who hangs out with one boy at home and has another declaring his love for is about the love story.

    If not, Katniss could have had one guy friend and one girl friend.

    But yes, it is essential about the power and misuse of it.

Leave a Reply

