Book #3: “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” by Stieg Larsson

So I finished reading The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

I’m not happy.

I’m trying to content myself with the idea that the horrible ending was simply a vehicle to create a need for a sequel. It’s not working.

I wasn’t looking for a happily-ever-after ending. No book like that could have that type of ending and be a legitimate, logical story. But there’s something between happily-ever-after and crushing any liking or respect the reader had for the characters. For me, Larsson’s ending did the latter.

I spent four hundred odd pages rooting for Mikael Blomkvist and Henrik Vanger and, in the last hundred or so pages, I found them absolutely despicable.

Maybe that’s how high powered journalists and ridiculously wealthy corporate giants behave, but it doesn’t make a good story.

I’d been debating whether or not to buy the next two books in the series. I’m not buying them. The ending of this book and the excerpt from the second included in my copy sufficiently convinced me of that. My money will be better spent elsewhere.

7 thoughts on “Book #3: “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” by Stieg Larsson

  1. booksaremyrealities February 14, 2012 / 10:46 pm

    I saw the movie… and later on i found out that there is a book with the same title…
    So far, i didn’t like the movie..and i lost interest in wanting to read the book…

    • nilyov February 14, 2012 / 10:54 pm

      I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I heard that the parts that irked me about the book aren’t in the movie. Figures…

      • booksaremyrealities February 14, 2012 / 10:56 pm

        books made into movies are never that accurate..

      • nilyov February 15, 2012 / 10:15 am

        Agreed. I think I’ve found one movie adaptation of a book where the movie was better than the book. It was “Secret Window”, the short story by Stephen King. Terrible ending to the written story, much better ending to the movie.

  2. booksaremyrealities February 15, 2012 / 6:51 pm

    well i have agree with this one, i haven’t read the book though so i will take your word for that and i will look for the book to see for myself 🙂 i have seen the movie though and it wasn’t really the ending i hoped for..

    • nilyov March 4, 2012 / 5:57 pm

      I’ve got to say that no one recommended the book to me, quite the opposite. I’d only heard about it and it seemed like my sister’s type of book so I bought it for her. She never got past the first 20 pages so, perhaps stupidly, I decided that I was going to read it. And I did, for better or worse.

      I just read your review of it and I agree with you completely, especially on the framed flowers (which I forgot to mention in mine). I was very excited about that and then, hundreds of pages later, very let down.

      We’ll have to compare notes if and when we watch the movie, lol.

Leave a Reply

