Are sequels as good as the original?

Inquiring minds want to know. Well, one inquiring mind anyway. Mine.

You see, I’ve started reading Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. ‘Started reading’ probably isn’t the best phrase, though. ‘Started devouring’ might be more appropriate. I have a theory about what happened to Harriet Vanger and I’m dying to know if I’m right, but don’t tell me if you’ve read the book! Since I really want to know, I can’t stop reading. This is always an awesome development in my book, and the sign of a very good book.

However (and there’s always a however, isn’t there?), I’ve read a lot of books where the first one was far and away the best of the series. The Twilight Saga and The Game of Thrones come to mind. I’ve even read some where the first book is the only one really worth reading. Harry Potter is the only series I can think of right now that doesn’t fall into either of those categories.

But I have to ask, are The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest as good as The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo? Without giving anything away, of course, if you please.

Obviously, Lisbeth Salander is in all three, but what about Mikael Blomkvist and the Vangers? Aside from Salander, it isn’t a whole new cast of characters, is it?

I should just buy them and read them, shouldn’t I?

3 thoughts on “Are sequels as good as the original?

  1. bibliopirate January 24, 2012 / 3:51 pm

    My favorite was Dragon Tattoo, although I’ll admit I didn’t read the Hornet’s Nest. My fiancee loved them all though. I’m pretty sure Dragon Tattoo was her favorite as well

  2. nilyov January 24, 2012 / 3:59 pm

    Thanks! That sounds like what I was expecting.

  3. Jeyna Grace January 29, 2012 / 12:46 am

    Yea… just buy and read, you never know.

Leave a Reply

